North Dakota Car Insurance: Simple Overview to Insurance Rules

As with most U.S. states, car insurance is a mandatory requirements for all drivers in North Dakota. Auto insurance can be very beneficial for you if you have an accident. If you are a first-time car buyer, you need to know about the ways of getting cheap car insurance in North Dakota. Some of which includes:

1. Shop for Auto Insurance Online:

Using out free quotes form, you can get up to 8 quotes from top insurance companies in North Dakota. Instead of visiting multiple web sites of various insurance companies, you can simply complete the form below and get them all in one page. Even easier, you get to see each quotes and discounts on offers before you pick the most suitable one for your needs. When dealing directly with the insurance provider, it is essential for you to be upfront and honest while inquiring. Also, you need to ask the insurance companies whether they offer any kind of discounts for a good driving record, good credit history or for cars with safety features. You can then choose the most appropriate insurance policy to suit you. Shopping online for car insurance allows for ease and convenience that were once a task can only be made easier if you hire someone else to do it for you/

2. Compare Before you Buy:

You can consider opting for a yearly car insurance policy instead of buying coverage for a shorter period. With this, you will have to pay a lower rate that will remain unchanged for an entire year. Also, choose insurance with high deductibles. High deductibles are inversely proportional to premiums and so you will have to pay less in premiums.

3. Keep a good driving record:

It is very important for you to maintain a good driving record to get cheap car insurance in North Dakota as this is the foremost factor considered by insurance companies while offering car insurance. You also need to properly follow all the traffic rules and regulations set by the state.

To avoid other factors that will increase the cost of your car insurance, it is advised that you make yourself aware of all the motor vehicle laws when driving in North Dakota. You need to know that children aged 7 and younger should sit in car seat or a booster. People who are 17 or younger should wear seatbelts. Failure to insure that these laws are properly followed can add up points on your driving record and you may have to pay higher premiums when it comes time to renew or purchase a new insurance policy.

For complete information regarding auto insurance in North Dakota can be obtained from the North Dakota Insurance Department located in Bismarck by visiting their web site at www.nd.gov/ndins, or calling their office, 800-247-0560. For now, here are the basic requirements you should be aware of.

North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements are:

  • $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for uninsured motorist coverage
  • $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for underinsured motorist coverage
  • $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage for one person per accident
  • $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death for up to two people per accident
  • $30,000 worth of personal injury protection (PIP), or no-fault insurance
  • $25,000 for destruction of property of others per accident

This basic coverage is also referred to as 25/50/25 insurance coverage with 25/50 UM limits.

North Dakota follows a No-Fault system. As per this system, your car insurance company will have to pay for your injury claims, irrespective of whether you are responsible for the accident or not. Rules of a no-fault system vary from state to state.

Compare Quotes from Multiple Insurance Companies Now!