Montana Car Insurance: Simple Guide to State Auto Insurance Requirements

Before you start driving in the state of Montana, there are some basic regulations that you need to know. The most important of these are the minimum car insurance requirements as mandated by the law of the state.

Minimum Legal Car Insurance Coverage

The law in the state of Montana requires a driver to have a minimum bodily injury liability of $25,000 per injured person per accident and up to $50,000 for all injuries per accident.

The property damage liability coverage has a minimum limit of $10,000. This basic plan is often referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.

Under Montana auto insurance law, it is mandatory for companies to offer uninsured motorist coverage. But it is up to a driver to decide if they want to take this coverage. In other words, it’s recommended and sometimes bundles as part of your auto insurance quotes, but it’s still optional.

Unlike some other states that follow a “no fault” system, the state of Montana follows a tort system, which means that one of the parties involved in the accident must be responsible for causing it. The person held responsible for causing the accident has to pay for all the damages. The tort system varies slightly from state to state.

Though not required by the law, you may also purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to pay for damages against accidents and other factors such as theft and natural disasters.

Private Injury Protection is also a valuable addition to your insurance policy. It pays for medical expenses required in treating injuries sustained by you and your passengers in the event of an accident.

The state of Montana allows owners of 25 vehicles or more to obtain a self-insurance certificate. More details on auto insurance requirement in the state of Montana can be obtained by directly contacting Montana State Auditor in Helena on (406) 444-2040 or visiting their website at http://sao.mt.gov/.

What if you Drive with No Auto Insurance?

Driving without valid insurance can result in strict penalties within the state of Montana. You may be hit with a misdemeanor charge, which includes a fine of up to $500 and 5 points on your driving license. A total of 30 points on your license ultimately leads to its cancellation. You may also be jailed for 10 days. However, if you are caught a second time without valid car insurance, you will face a higher fine and another 10 days in jail. Moreover, your license may be suspended for a period of 90 days.

In order to find the best rate possible for car insurance, make sure that you compare the prices of at least 3 to 4 car insurance companies using our free quotes comparison system. We recommend you continue checking and comparing rates every 6 months or so to make sure that you are not paying more than you should.

Compare Quotes from Multiple Insurance Companies in Montana Now!