Hawaii Car Insurance: Quick Guide to State Requirements

A car insurance is essential to you can driver a vehicle in Hawaii. The state law requires that your vehicle be insured for the period of its registration. You are also supposed to have a valid vehicle insurance identification card in your car at all times.

You can be fined if you are found to be driving without a proper identification card. Driving without insurance will cause your vehicle registration to be cancelled and you will have to surrender the registration certificate and the license plate to your county director of finance.

Hawaii is a “no fault” state. This means that your car insurance company will pay for the medical expenses for you and your passengers' injuries up to the upper limit of the Personal Injury Protection, regardless of who is at fault in the accident.

In Hawaii, car insurance coverage requires driver to carry a minimum of Personal Injury Protection amount of $10,000 per person for you and every member of your family.

The bodily injury coverage pays for injuries that you may cause to others. The minimum amount for this coverage is $20,000 per person and $40,000 for all injuries per accident.

“No fault” applies only to injuries caused to people. It does not apply to property damage. Therefore, the person who is held responsible for the accident has to pay for causing damages to others property. The property damage liability required need to cover a minimum limit of $10,000 per accident.

Overall, the basic coverage is referred to as 20/40/10 coverage.

For more details on laws and regulations required by authorities in Hawaii, contact Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs in Honolulu, by calling (808) 586-279 or visiting their website at http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/ins.

Drivers may add optional insurance coverage option which includes the physical damage coverage that pays for the damage caused to your own car in the event of an accident. This coverage includes collision insurance and coverage insurance.

Unlike some other state, some coverage options are not mandatory in Hawaii. However, you can still consider these options for additional coverage such as having insurance against uninsured or under-insured motorists.

You may buy uninsured motorist coverage at a minimum of $20,000 per person to pay for serious bodily injury or death if the driver at fault is uninsured, or in case of a hit and run accident. You may also purchase underinsured motorist coverage at a minimum of $20,000 per person to pay if the driver at fault does not have adequate insurance to cover all costs.

Compare Quotes from Multiple Insurance Companies in Hawaii Now!