Delaware Car Insurance: Residents Guide to Requirements

If you are in Delaware and you are looking for car insurance, you may find that there are innumerable insurance companies who will lure you to buy a policy from them and offer you cheap insurance. The advertisements may be enticing, but not all companies are genuine. Hence, finding the right car insurance policy in Delaware can be a very complicated task.

It is therefore very essential to first get information about the insurance requirements from the Delaware Department of Insurance before buying insurance. Each state has its own set of rules and guidelines concerning car insurance, and if you want to get the best insurance coverage, you must first know the rules of your state, Delaware.

The laws in Delaware make it compulsory for every driver in the state to have minimum liability insurance coverage. The minimum liability coverage covers the cost of, not only the bodily injury, but also the property damage.

Delaware follows the 'Tort System' for car insurance. As per the system, a single person is held responsible for the accident and has to pay for the damages.

Each and every driver in Delaware, as per the law, is required to have minimum liability coverage of $15,000 to pay for the medical expenses of a single person who suffers bodily injuries in an accident. Delaware state auto insurance law also requires drivers to have a minimum of $30,000 coverage to pay for damages, if more than one person is injured in an accident. If the driver causes any damage to private property, the minimum coverage required is $10,000.

Apart from minimum liability insurance, Delaware has a tort system which also requires every driver to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage for minimum of $15,000 for one person and $30,000 for the total number people involved in the accident.

Comprehensive information on Delaware state requirements for auto insurance can be obtained from the Delaware Department of Insurance in Dover at 1-800-282-8611 or by visiting their website at http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/.

If you live in Delaware and looking to save money on your car insurance, there are some discounts that Delaware auto insurance companies offer. Most of our insurance partners in Delaware offer discounts as they compete for business locally. You can check for available discounts using our free quotes comparison tool available at the end of this article.

There are various types of discounts available for drivers in Delaware. Some of which includes:

Good Grades Discounts: If you are a student, then you might be qualified for this discount offer. But your academic records should reflect that you have consistently maintained good grades. If you maintain a 3.0 Grade Per Annum (GPA), you may qualify for the discount. This type of discounts is especially helpful for young drivers who are just getting started.

Defensive Driving and Safety Devices: If you've taken a defensive driving course and do not have any accident records, some companies may offer you a discount on your premium. You should also be eligible for discounts if your car is equipped with modern safety devices.

Compare Quotes from Multiple Insurance Companies in your State Now!