Arizona Car Insurance: Residents Requirements Made Simple

The state of Arizona, like all other states of the U.S, requires its drivers to have a minimum liability car insurance policy.

Arizona follows a tort system. Under this system, one of the parties involved in the accident is considered guilty of causing it. The person responsible for the accident and his insurance company are held liable for all bodily injuries and other damages caused by the accident. They are required to pay for these damages.

The minimum bodily injury liability per person per accident is $15,000 and up to a total of $30,000 for all injuries per accident. $10,000 is the minimum property damage liability coverage. This basic plan is referred to as 15/30/10.

Before getting your car registered in the state of Arizona, you are required to show proof of financial responsibility by purchasing either this coverage or by having a “bond” of $40,000. Financial responsibility is the proof of your ability to cover the damages in case you are found at fault in an accident.

Drivers in the state of Arizona are required to carry a proof of financial responsibility in the car at all times. Non- compliance with the financial responsibility law may result in a driver being fined up to $250. It can also lead to the suspension of driver's license and car registration.

In Arizona, uninsured motorist coverage can be bought for any amount up to which you have purchased the bodily injury liability, but it should be more than the minimum bodily injury requirement. Underinsured motorist coverage can be bought for an amount less than the minimum bodily injury coverage.

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage covers you against injuries and damages if the driver responsible for the accident is either not insured or underinsured.

If you lease your car or finance it through a loan, your finance company may require you to buy comprehensive and collision coverage as well.

The minimum car insurance limits in Arizona may not be adequate to cover you if you are responsible for an accident. It is recommended that you buy more than the minimum requirements of the state law.

More details on AZ auto insurance can be obtained by visiting the Arizona Department of Insurance website at www.id.state.az.us or calling 1-800-325-2548.

The average rate of car insurance in Arizona in the year 2009 is $1,834. This is higher than the national average of $1,794. It is also 12% higher than what it was in 2008.

You may feel that finding cheap car insurance in Arizona is difficult. However, we have worked hard to make things easier for you. You can find many low-cost car insurance companies in your area by using out easy free insurance quotes system found at the end of this article. Once you know the basic requirements of the state, finding a car insurance policy that suits your needs and budget has been made easy with our system. Type you Zip Code in the box below or select your state to get up to 8 quotes instantly!

Compare Quotes from Leading Insurance Companies in Arizona Now!