headerphoto

Texas Car Insurance: Quick Guide to State Requirements

Car Insurance laws differ from state to sate. Texas is no fault state, which implies that someone must be at fault for causing the accident. When an accident happens, the driver liable for causing damages is held responsible and the insurance company pay up for damages and injury as per the terms of the policy. The state is also referred to as a "Tort State".

Compare Quotes from Multiple Insurance Companies in Texas Now!

As per the Texas car insurance laws, it is mandatory for all car owners to have a liability insurance policy. If you think you can get away without having proper insurance, you may be running the risk of getting caught by traffic law enforcement officers who are constantly vigil and are on the lookout for auto insurance evaders.

More specific information on TX auto insurance regulations consumers can contact the Texas Department of Insurance, located in Austin, on 800-252-3439 or by visiting their website at http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/. For now, here are some basic rules everyone should know.

The minimum requirements for car insurance according to the law in Texas are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Limits (per person) - $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Limits (per accident) - $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Limits (per accident) - $25,000

According to the car insurance laws in Texas, uninsured car insurance coverage is not required. But, insurance against uninsured/under insured car drivers is available in Texas and it is recommended to have one.

Texas car insurance rules are quite easy to follow. Most car insurance companies in Texas operate under the uniform code 25/50/25 and offer coverage as stated per state legal requirements. The Texas insurance law enforcers have recently enforced a new law, The Texas Sure law to insure cars. The law is enforced with a view to end the woes of the rising fake insurers in the state. The law requires the driver of the car to enter his license plate number into the police computer system. If you drive in the state of Texas, you should have a minimum amount of liability insurance.

If you are driving around in Texas and get stopped by a police officer, the first thing he/she will ask for is a copy of your auto insurance and if you do not have one you will immediately be issued a ticket, which would show on your driving record.

One way by which mandatory insurance is enforced in Texas, is when you go to register your car or to renew you car registration, you first need to show proof of your car insurance coverage. If you fail to produce a copy of your insurance, you will be issued two tickets for expired registration and one for not having proof of insurance.

These laws are being strictly enforced for the benefit of the car drivers. The laws also protect the interest of the various Car Insurance Companies in the state. It also aims to reduce the number of accident on the roads and ensure drivers responsibility.