headerphoto

Pennsylvania Car Insurance: Quick Guide to Auto Insurance in PA

Like other states in the USA, it is mandatory for car drivers to have car insurance. The insurance laws of Pennsylvania are different from other states. It is, therefore, essential to understand the laws that are effective in the sate before buying an insurance policy.

The five most important car insurance laws in Pennsylvania that you need to know are:

1. Pennsylvania's Minimum Requirements For car Insurance:

The laws of Pennsylvania make it mandatory for every driver to have a minimum liability limit of $15,000 for any bodily injury per person. Whereas, the liability limit per accident is $30,000. For damage to the property in an accident, the liability limit is $5000. The Pennsylvania law also requires every driver to carry medical expense coverage for $5000. These required minimum limits are very low and it do not offer full coverage of the damages if you get into a serious accident.

2. No Fault Car Insurance State:

The no-fault system is also referred to as Tort System and it implies that the driver is held responsible for the accident. If you are car driver in Pennsylvania, you have the option to choose either a limited tort or full tort on your insurance policy. It is, however, advisable to choose full tort because it provides a better car insurance coverage if you get into an accident. Limited tort on the other hand would be expensive for you and it provides only limited coverage.

3. Hefty Penalties for not having Car Insurance:

If you are driving a car in Pennsylvania without a proof of insurance, you are running a great risk. If you get caught by a police officer, your license will be suspended for 90 days and you will also be fined. You'll also get a ticket for driving without insurance proof.

4. Assigned Risk Plan:

The assigned risk plan ensures that each and every car driver gets car insurance irrespective of how high risk you are as a driver. If an insurance company refuses or cancels your insurance coverage, then you could use this law to get insurance coverage.

5. Uninsured Motorist Coverage for Extra Protection:

If you own more than one vehicle and you have them insured under the same insurance policy, you can buy an uninsured coverage for the vehicle. However, if you get additional coverage you have to pay an additional premium and you would be entitled to receive additional protection.

6. More information on PA Policies:

Further details pertaining to Pennsylvania insurance requirements and information consumers can contact the Pennsylvania Insurance Department located in Philadelphia, Harrisburg and Pittsburgh by calling (877) 881-6388 or by visiting their web site at http://www.insurance.pa.gov/.

Understanding the laws is essential because it not only helps you drive safely in the state, but also saves you money.

Compare Quotes from Leading Insurance Companies Now!